Historic Preservation Commission

Apply Online

Certificate of Appropriateness


The Historical Preservation Commission meets the first Tuesday of the month at 5:15 pm in the Municipal Building. All applications shall be received by the last Tuesday of the previous month to make the agenda for the next meeting.

Historic Preservation Staff

The Historic Preservation Commission has been staffed by the Building Division of the Development and Engineering Department of the City of Cleveland. For questions or applications, Peggy Hathcock may be contacted at 423-599-9249.

About the Historic Preservation Commission

The Historic Preservation Commission activities will promote and protect the health, safety, prosperity, education and general welfare of the people living in and visiting the City of Cleveland, Tennessee. More specifically, this historic preservation chapter is designed to achieve the following goals:

  • Protect, enhance and perpetuate resources which represent distinctive and significant elements of the city’s historical, cultural, social, economic, political archaeological, and architectural identity
  • Insure the harmonious, orderly, and efficient growth and development of the city
  • Strengthen civic pride and cultural stability through neighborhood conservation
  • Stabilize the economy of the city through the continued use, preservation, and revitalization of its resources
  • Promote the use of resources for the education, pleasure, and welfare of the people of the city
  • Provide a review process for the preservation and development of the city’s resources.


The Historic Preservation Commission members shall consist of seven members, serving 4-year staggered terms. The commission’s membership shall include a representative of a local patriotic or historical organization; an architect or engineer, if available; and a person who is the member of the Cleveland Municipal Planning Commission at the time of his/her appointment. The commission’s membership shall include members from the community in general but, if possible, it shall include professionals in primary or secondary historic preservation-related disciplines regardless of their place of residence. Efforts to include commission members from primary historic preservation-related disciplines (architecture, history, architectural history, archaeology) and secondary historic preservation-related disciplines (urban planning, American studies, American civilization, cultural geography, cultural anthropology, interior design, law and related fields) shall be documented.

All members of the commission are appointed by the city council and shall serve for designated terms and may be re-appointed. Initial appointments to the commission shall be made so as to provide staggered terms for membership. Three of the initial appointments shall be for 4 years; two initial appointments shall be for 3 years; and two initial appointments shall be for 2 years.

Members & Expiration

  • Joan Benjamin
    June 2020
  • Rufus Triplett
    June 2020
  • Sarah Coleman
    June 2022
  • Phyllis Callaway
    June 2022
  • Maryl Elliot
    June 2019
  • Dr. Randy Wood
    June 2019


  • Jane Easterly

Documents and Links